Luca: big or small?

A lovely day with Luca. Good chats in the car, on the way over here, with Luca speculating as to whether he's a kid or a grown-up... 'I'm a grown-up', he said. 'Not quite yet', I replied, 'but you're getting bigger, you're quite a big kid.'  He pondered for a moment, and then proposed his own version: 'I'm a small grown-up!'
Later I recounted all this to Ruth, who explained that sometimes she and Josh comment to him 'that was a very grown-up thing to do', e.g. when he's got himself dressed without help.  So I could see where he was coming from.
I love his ruminations. There were more later on, as we sat outside on a sunny bench in the garden. I told him that I'd seen a honey bee foraging - he loves bees and is completely unafraid of them. We talked over which plants in the garden they might be visiting; rosemary is in flower at the moment, for instance. I broke off a little piece of rosemary and gave it to him to sniff.  'They are looking for the nectar', he commented, coming back to the bees theme. 'Do they like rosemary?' We agreed that they do like the tiny blue flowers.
In the not-very-sharp phone photo, Luca suddenly does look very small, however, with that backdrop and those young teenagers hanging out in the basketball court (a favourite biking spot for Luca).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.