In Love?

We're never going to be a perfect match. But there’s something about the twists and turns of this new relationship that has me coming back for more. It’s a steep learning curve. Too steep sometimes. 

Beryl and I were fogbound this morning so I delayed setting off for an hour. I wasn't sure I was going to see anything as it was quite a whiteout at first.  A little round the corner, and only three miles in, I was faced with this wonderful sight. 

The White Horse is visible from a long way away so to suddenly have the mist clear and unexpectedly see the animal almost within touching distance was quite a moment.  Of course, I then had to cycle up the animal! You can't see the road but it weaves up until you're right under the hooves before heading off rightwards.

This is where my relationship with the North York Moors took a turn for the better. The hill itself was quite pleasant and once I was on the top, blue sky surrounded me.  I'd then planned a rollercoaster (it's quite hard not to!)  So, every time I headed down into the troughs, I was busily wiping the fog from my glasses but, every time, the ups arrived, I had a new incentive to get back into the sunshine.  And that's how most of the few hours were spent.  I had an extra nine miles to do today compared to last week's route but I could have avoided the extra loop past Rivaulx Abbey and Hawnby had I not felt good enough after White Horse Bank. 

As I came back from the extra section and repeated a short strip of road before continuing on towards Helmsley, my Garmin got a bit confused and beeped to send me back round on the same loop - luckily, I knew where I was going and, I don't think so!

So, plenty more dips, fords and steep warning triangles later and, I arrive at Helmsley in fog.  I thought I might need a cafe stop here but I was OK and it was a touch inclement for hanging around.   

The last few miles were much more undulating with lambs and daffodils and I eventually broke out into sunshine at Byland Abbey which was another stunning landmark that I don't recall ever seeing.  Eventually back to Coxwold and I had this disconcerting feeling that I'd quite enjoyed myself.

It's definitely a work-in-progress relationship but today, the North York Moors was a pretty cool Valentine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.