CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A dunnock displaying to attract a mate

I looked out of my office window having spotted a buzzard f]soaring out above The Horns valley. Sadly it soared away rather than coming closer.

I'd only just refilled the sunflower feeder and pointed my lens out over a bit beyond it. This feeder hasn't been used for nearly a year, as it isn't as squirrel proof as the other two feeders. 

The tree it is hanging from is called a rhus which is common here on the limestone which it seems to love. This tree died a few years ago, as they are quite shortlived but I have kept it to allow birds to perch there.

This dunnock is a case in point. It scurried out of the foliage and I noticed it flashing its wings as if it was displaying. I couldn't see a female nearby but dunnocks are very shy so it might have been nearby but camouflaged. I managed to get this small flash of open wings to record its presence. I don't often blip them given the abundance of other flashier birds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.