Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

An die Musik*

*To the music

When I saw DDW's challenge prompt for today was music I thought it would be a piece of cake -- I live, think, dream and breathe music, especially the last year when I've been an apprentice music teacher. It was actually more challenging than I anticipated - at least, coming up with something a bit original and artistic.

This is a banner day: I had my very first voice student today!!! It was so much fun! Our voice institute started a program this term offering free voice lessons - taught by apprentices - to people who are passionate about learning to sing but are financially challenged. We're partnering with a couple of other non-profit organizations to provide this service. It's a wonderful opportunity for them to learn vocal technique and for us to have teaching experience. I'll have two students through this program in addition to a few more who've signed up to take private lessons from me. It is happening!!!

Music is the thing that has been most consistent in my life. Fortunately, I was born into a family where it was valued and encouraged (perhaps not always in healthy ways, but that's another story), so I had many opportunities to learn it and experience it in mostly positive ways. Time after time I hear stories from people who've had the opposite experience, who've suffered musical abuse - told they can't or shouldn't sing, or had lessons from bullies who know only how to give negative reinforcement. If I can turn that around for just one person through my teaching, I will have accomplished something wonderful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.