thespotlightkid

By thespotlightkid

Animals at the bird feeders

I discovered in Arizona that the thing that wild birds in these parts love most is oranges. Every day here I put out a couple of oranges sliced in two and within an hour they've been dessicated, trampled, emptied out and generally trashed by the birds. I leave them for a day or two so that the ants come, and then more birds come for the ants.

Watching today from the verandah I realised there is more to it than meets the eye. This little chipmunk (as yet unidentified, much greyer than most) spent ages at one of the segments, and I thought he was going to be dinner for the chuckwalla iguana that suddenly appeared, having crawled down the cactus. Actually both chipmunk and iguana survived.

Can you see two more lizards sunning themselves on a rock behind?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.