Flounders Folly and Callow Hill

This morning my wife decided to reorganise the kitchen in readiness for alterations at the weekend. She is having a unit removed to make way for the upright freezer that is currently in the dining room, and in the way.

Would I be OK to take the dog out and make myself scarce? 

I suppose I could be pursuaded. 

I drove out to the village of Lower Dinchope and parked up, walking uphill toward Callow Hill. My objective was the fine old folly on the summit ridge, which I had heard about but never visited. 

https://www.floundersfolly.org.uk/

There are several routes to the top and today I took the shortest and steepest. By golly it was steep. One in three in parts.  Also very very slippery due to recent rain. I needed to take great care. Hollie loved it! 

Once up I had a good look round, spoke briefly to a couple who had come in from the south, and picked up litter left by previous neanderthal visitors.. Gggrrr.. 

After a reasonable time exploring and taking pictures we made our way back down via the longer gentler descent and enjoyed some incredible views across the valley to the Stretton Hills. 

Thank you to the kind  people who enquired after Mrs eye after her I operation. I am pleased to report it went well and she says it already feels a lot better. Good progress, thank you one and all. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.