Wild Wednesday ...

... first chipmunk of the year!!!

My chipmunk vigil has finally paid off!  Shortly before lunch I was putting some peanuts out for the squirrels when I saw an unmistakable brown striped object streaking across the mulched area and into a safe haven.  To say I was excited was the understatement of the year!  I didn't sit out at that point as we were getting ready for our lunchtime walk at Housenick.

But you can be assured that the minute we got home I set myself up in the backyard where I had seen him earlier.   It didn't take long before I saw this little male pop up out of a hole along the sidewalk.  He ducked back down briefly but then popped back up again ... much to my delight!  I throw a couple of peanuts towards him and he came right out for them!  Looks like we are starting off on a good foot this year ... as he didn't seem all that concerned that I was only a few yards away.  YAY!  Please have a look full screen.

Thanks to Cailleach for keeping Wednesday's wild and giving me a good excuse to waste spend time in the backyard in the sunshine.  Today's temp at the time I was outside in the backyard was a lovely 64°F!  I'll take it!

I've done a selected mono conversation here as I felt my first chipmunk should be in color! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.