Strawhouse

By strawhouse

In the Woods

Mum’s had a nightmare getting the stitches in her lip removed. The consultant in the hospital said they should be taken out in seven days, so Monday/Tuesday this week.
But being unable to get to the surgery and having Covid and no one being available made it all a bit difficult.
After much toing and froing the lovely paramedic nurse came to do it this morning.
Having the stitches put in was horrific apparently - one of the worst things she’s ever been through - so mum was in a bit of a tizz about getting them out. She messaged me last night to ask could I go over early to be there at 8.30am when the nurse came.
I set off at 7.45 to get there in good time so mum wasn’t fretting and I could get a cup of tea. It’s a twenty minute journey.
Traffic, roadworks, fog. Oh my God!!!
I got there at 8.29am having driven like a lunatic down all the village back roads to get there. Then I couldn’t lock the car because the keys were in it somewhere and I couldn’t find them.
Turns out they were in my coat pocket on the back seat. Where they’d been all night.
Mr K loves it when I do that!!!!
But I made it and the nurse was lovely. I held mum’s hand and reminded her to breathe and it was soon over. She’s worried about scarring but it seems to have healed really well.
Then it was back to Buckingham to the tip and then on to Milton Keynes. It’s Miss L’s birthday tomorrow so today’s the day!!
IKEA first for the wardrobe, desk chair, faux plants, storage boxes, lamp and picture frames.
The. Asda for cake, candles, cards, party poppers, bubble bath, shower gel and a chocolate Orange.
When I headed home - properly traumatised by the amount of money I’d just spent - the slip road to the A5 was closed and the way I went took me past Carpetright.
After the samples came the other day I arranged for them to come and measure up next Thursday. I thought I’d pop in today to look at other options. I’d pretty much chosen the carpet we wanted but thought I may as well look at other colours as I was passing.
Chatting to the manager it turns out we can’t have the style I’d chosen ( a Berber) because they don’t recommend it for households with dogs. They pull up all the loops with their claws and may actually tear their claws off. Eeesh!
So it was back to the drawing board. And I just can’t get too excited about carpetty carpet!
I took some photos of some possible options and will order some new samples. The manager said just to use a different email address so I could get four more. He also said he’d give us another 10% off whatever we choose, on top of the free fitting offer. Whoop whoop!!!
Then it was home to start wrapping presents and tidy up a bit. The house is getting a bit out of control.
Nanny arrived in the afternoon which was lovely. We had to cancel our Christmas visit because they were ill so it was good to see her and brilliant that she got to be here for Miss L’s birthday.
Archie hasn’t been out for days so despite the fact it was getting dark I took him out just before 5pm. He loved it!!!!
I loved it too - fresh air and no need to rush anywhere!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.