Osprey fishing

See it Bigger here.

I was out and at 'em early this morning for two main reasons; firstly the weather forecasters predicted the end of the world weather wise, and secondly, I wanted to see if I could get some pics of the osprey.

Now, the first happened, as you can see and the second may happen, which is a shame for Honourable son N°2 as he is playing in an international rugby match this afternoon - I will be there as soon as I post this blip.

I took my 3 legged stool and my camera today - that's all. I didn't want to set the hide up as I didn't know if the osprey would be there, nor where it would be, so I decided to stay mobile.

The morning was warmish with sunny spells - OMG I'm even sounding like a weatherman now ....
Anyway, it was pleasant just sitting there in silence listening and watching all around.
I saw a band of kites come over the hill - sounds very much like a spaghetti western, but that's the way they hang around these parts *spit* *ting*

Amongst the kites was the unmistakable shape of an osprey - which then alighted on a tree right opposite me, about 150 meters away - just looking at me and all around.

I sat as still as possible and waited and waited ...

Finally the osprey gout off of its perch and plunged into the water, emerging with what looks like a catfish. I was taken a bit by surprise, as I expected it to take a slow and graceful flight, a bit like an Airbus 380, then just gently pick a fish from the water.
It actually got from perch to water in a split second.
I started clicking away - the are more pictures HERE if you would like to see them - then was taken by a sneezing fit, like the mother of all sneezing fits ...

I managed to get some shots off and I think, now, that there is a pair of ospreys here, either that or the one is very fast, which is true, and fished 4 fish from the lake in about 10 minutes AND managed to get one from one of the other lakes, after having taken one from the first lake a couple of minutes ago.

In fact, now I come to think of it, there is a huge nest, which was abandoned before, with massive twigs - I wonder if this could now be being used - I must investigate that.

So, I'm off to watch Hon. Son. N° II play rugby and then there is the final of the Heineken cup - COME ON CLERMONT!!!

Hope you have a wonderful day - mine started well, hope your did too :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.