Helena's birthday flowers

Having been feeling increasingly unwell for a couple of days Helena suggested I take a covid test, so that she'd know if she was at risk. She'd tested negative last week when she had felt ill. Sadly my test was positive today.

After a quiet day spent partly in bed I got up to make a cup of tea late this afternoon and noticed that Helena’s birthday various birthday flowers looked ready to wilt. I quickly changed my camera lens to catch the last of the afternoon light coming through the window, tweaked with a hint of electric light.

I was particularly sorry to find the orchid leaves had all rotted and its small flower buds had all withered. It won’t survive, and probably has been exposed to cold conditions while benign transported to the shop it was brought from. What a shame as it had appeared to be a fine specimen when Helena was given it less than two weeks ago..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.