Majestic

Fortunately L could walk Django, because I woke at 08:20, and had to be in the centre of Edinburgh for a 10:00 meeting with our solicitors to start the process of settling Mum's estate. There were a few surprises, but nothing too bad. I was also "told off" for not yet having made a will. 

I had plenty of time to get back for a meeting at KB so had the pleasure of wandering central Edinburgh for a while. The turd looked so incongruous next to the Melville Memorial in Saint Andrew Square, although he's somewhat deprecated these days, since he sought a pragmatic gradual end to slavery rather than push for an immediate end that would probably never have been enacted. 

At KB I attended the student-staff liaison committee, where I demonstrated that my loyalties these days lie with the students. It made me realise once again, that the academic strike is mainly about maintaining an unreasonably privileged position in society. 

After that, it was back to more programming, and the joy of having someone else find a fix for a bug in one of our solvers! I stayed late, going straight to the Lyceum, where I joined A to see "Macbeth (an undoing)". I kept nodding off during the first half so, since I'd forgotten the details of Macbeth, I didn't get much out of the performance. At the interval I skimmed through the synopsis of the play, and realised that they'd followed it fairly closely - so far. I then enjoyed the second half [spoiler alert] where this production flips the roles of Macbeth and Lady Macbeth: she remains sane and holds power, whereas he goes mad. The end is still a blood-fest, though! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.