Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Me and mine

This little rocking chair was actually Jerry's chair from when he was a little boy.  Both of my boys used it also...as well as the puppies we have had using it for teething!!  Jerry's Uncle Charlie made it almost 70 years ago.  
Looking at chairs this week for the 52Frames prompt.

Today I was an electrician!   On a ladder!    The fluorescent tubes lights in Jerry's shop both burned out so instead of buying new tubes he decided to get LED lights for this area.   He went to the store to get the light and after lunch he started walking to shed with the light.    I was outside so I asked him what he was going to do...he said put this light up.  I said NO..you cannot stand on a tall ladder reaching over your head.  So I looked at the light and the ladder and said I could do it.   So up on the 10 feet ladder I went, got the tubes out, then snapped off the cover where the long aluminum fixture was screwed to the wood, got the screws out (he NEVER lets me use the battery operated drill thingy to remove screws, but I did it!).   Then I had to snip the electric wire.   He did strip the wire and connect it to the new fixture (which I could have done with a little guidance!)   but I was the one that fastened it back to the wood in the ceiling. Standing on the ladder!  With the heavy drill thingy! 

Never underestimate the capabilities of a determined little woman. 

Now he has light to clean up that junk yard of a shed.   A project that he can do standing up while he is still healing from the knee surgery.    

The pollen is getting to me...sneezy, scratchy eyes and just blah.  I did work in the yard today which probably did not help.   I will be sowing zinnia seeds and butterfly weed seeds this weekend as our weather is going to be warm for the next week.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.