Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

Vending Machine

Very early start as I had to take young Linus the old kitten, young cat to have THE cut! In the last few weeks, he's become more and more aggressive towards the other two boys. Not aggressive in a really nasty way, but simply very boisterous. I think Angie was pleased I agreed to do it, in the hope he would blame me for what happened!

The main reason I agreed to be at the vet at 8am and hang around until 11am to pick him up, was that I have wanted to visit some car garages in Memmingen to discuss possible purchase of an electric car. My 2020 emergency bought, 1998 VW Polo is due to go to the scrapyard at the end of March.

Very difficult decision, the car market in total is dreadfully expensive, whether new or used. Technology is racing forward. No longer is the technical details of the piston or suspension system important, but the software controlling whatever propulsion system & navigation/entertainment is 'on-board'.

I somehow think E-Auto is the 'right' thing to do, has advantages as I do a lot of short journeys which are dreadful for petrol/diesel engines efficiency. Financially, as far as pure 'fuel' costs are concerned, electric doesn't have any great benefit at the moment, thanks to the huge rise in electricity prices. I don't think the electric charging infrastructure is an issue for me, as I can probably charge at home 90% of the time. And anyway, I was raised on motoring in rural Norfolk where on a Saturday night after the disco is some far-flung country location, you had to find a way home knowing there was probably only one petrol station open 24/7 in Norwich, serving the whole county.

My visits to two shortlisted dealerships were mixed - delivery times are dreadful, up to 14 months. So afterwards, popped into the nearby large bicycle shop to take a peek at E-Bikes. Might be the route I have to go!

Took this photo in their car park of the E-Bike charging station, but also the inner tube vending machine you can find in many towns. Visiting Brits always seem to find this amusing.

Picked up poor Linus, who I was told had been very 'lively' - Rampaging was the German word used! Very sleepy most of the day, but by evening we could let him out & he wasn't at all cross at either of us.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.