Shutterbug

By studiob

Sophie Bundchen

Meet Sophie Bundchen.

There should be two little dots over the "u" in Bundchen but I don't know how to do that. More about Sophie in a minute.

It was a day full of adventure and watering the plants and laughter. A lot of laughter. We got a new hose, Eli received a christening while watering the plants, fence and driveway. It was the last day of school for Oklahoma City Public Schools and while we were out watering, the school by dropped off it's last load of kids for the last time this year. We waved our customary hello, and the bus driver stopped and gave us two M & M cookies. A very good day.

After a great Tex-Mex dinner at a local, not chain restaurant, Ted's Cafe Escondito, we came home to playful cats. Sophie and Tucker, and Sam I Am (the starving kitten who adopted us). That's when I took this shot. It's not a great shot technically, she kept moving, and it's a out of focus. But it's soooo Sophie. It was just the shot of the day.

Sophie and Tucker were roommates at the Oklahoma City Pound. We had lost a cat that we had had for 14 years, Kit Kat, two weeks before we got these two. Through the encouragement of our daughter, I finally started looking for a new pet. Notice the singular tense.

I went to the pound in hopes of finding some exotic Persian, with a beautiful fluffy coat or something like that.

But there was this Tabby cat, that was quite the salesman. And he had a roommate that was interested as well, but a little more in the shadows. I was at the pound for two hours, watching all the cats, but mostly these two. Watching and observing. Getting to know their personalitlies.

And there was that Tabby. Always at the door of his cage. Seeking me out. Persuading me with his antics. His roommate right behind him. The sad part of this story, (I guess when you're at the pound, there are many sad stories), is they were "clearance" cats. They were on sale, I guess because they had been there for a while. They were about 5 months old.

Any way, he sold me. And he became Tucker. And his roommate became Sophie. There was no separating these two. I had the name Sophie picked out for the female. But what to name this cat who was so curious, so entertaining, so full of personality?

My husband came up with Tucker. The last name of the singer, Sophie Tucker. The perfect name for this cat.

Any way, these two are hilarious. Tucker is the smartest and funniest cat we've ever had. I'll post a picture of him another day. And Sophie is the smallest cat we've ever had. She's a gray and cream tabby with a pink nose outlined in black. Eli always asks when she's going to get bigger. And I have to say she's as big as she's going to get.

Somewhere along the way, I heard the name of the Brazillian supermodel, Giselle Bundchen, now wife of Tom Brady, quarterback of the New England Patriots, on TV. Bundchen with the two little dots over the "u".

And it just went with the name Sophie and her personality.

So that's the very long story of Sophie Bundchen and Tucker and a very fun day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.