YORKSHIREBRED

By Yorkshirebred

Saltaire wanderings

Backblipped on 17/2 for 15/2.  Treatment day at the dentist today, so caught 2 buses to Shipley.  I like my new dentist and she is an absolute doppelgänger for the Princess of Wales!  A large filling, done, then cleaning and some sealing later I left with very numb lips and decided to walk along to Saltaire.  I passed the almshouses, and my blip is the doorway to the old Sir Titus Salt's Hospital. I then went for a look around Salts Mill photographing a couple of the large artworks and a blue iron stand and water-filled vase which took my eye as I loved the colour  (extras). Leaving the mill I had intended to walk back to Bingley along the canal, but it had started to pour down and I wasn't wearing my waterproof jacket.  I therefore went to one of the shops which sells locally roasted coffee beans. Expensive compared to what I usually buy, but decided to give 2 types a try. I was offered a free cup of coffee, but had to refuse as I was still numb and unable to drink.  I then had a look in a few more shops whilst walking back to the main road to catch the bus.  A bit of a wait, then 3 different buses arrived at once.  Of course, as soon as I boarded the bus the rain stopped and the sun came out!  Ho hum!  Reaching Bingley I did a bit more shopping before the village bus was due, and got back to the village just in time to drop off my shopping and get to the local for "3 & go".  Just 3 of us this evening, but a nice get together after a good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.