Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

The Grate Gatsby

What a difference from yesterday's surfeit of Vitamin D. Rain rain rain!

So I booked a 2 for 1 at the cinema this afternoon - The Great Gatsby. And I'm sorry to say - I'd've rather been wandering around in the rain for two hours.

Apart from the couple who rustled through packet after packet of something or other (I moved seats) I found the film unbearable. Well, not unbearable, as I did sit through it, albeit sighing and gasping at the inanity of the dialogue, the over acting, the stupid story (haven't read the book, but I don't remember it being so silly when Rob Redford did it) and the awful characters that you just didn't/couldn't empathise with.

Tobey Maguire - I'm sorry, he just can't act. His opening his eyes wide to indicate surprise or shock seems a tad amateurish, but what do I know? And the husband was awful too, with his pencil thin villain moustache. And don't let me get started on to the music... Rap? Hip hop? NO! At least it wasn't in 3D. That would have been torture!

But don't let me put you off...

However, it filled in a wet afternoon. And on the way home we had a 15 minute wait for our bus, so we popped into a nearby shoe shop, where I bought a half price pair of shoes in about 5 minutes flat and then got the bus - that's my kind of shopping!

I brought my camera into town with me, but it was too dreich to bother taking photos. However, when I came home, I popped into the neighbour's to see wee Brodie. He was full of energy, but a wee biscuit seems to have a magic effect on him. Thanks Brodie! You saved me having to inflict on everyone a blip of a vase of (dyed) blue chrysanthemums that JR acquired at school yesterday.

Thanks for all the kind words on my promenade shot yesterday. It's my second most popular shot ever.

PS The spelling mistake in the title - isn't.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.