Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A promenade on the Promenade

Vague plans to go to the afternoon (cheap) movie were abandoned when I saw blue skies and fluffy white clouds. Plan B was put into operation. A promenade along the Promenade was called for!

Popped down to Uncle A to do some ironing, then bus into town and thence to the beach. And what a glorious day it was. My hat was off. My jacket, too, was off. It was warm and still and calm and I could feel the Vitamin D seeping/gushing/oozing into my blood.

I walked along, watching dogs and owners enjoying the sea. And there was a swimmer in, swimming along the whole length of the beach, who then turned and went back again. What a super big calm swimming pool. With no lanes!

The beach got crowded later on as the school kids were let out. As I sat on the wall having a very expensive (and not overly-generous) ice cream, watching the antics, a woman came up to me and said,

'Excuse me. Do you use a Kindle?'

She wanted to recommend a book of short stories by her writing group. It's called 'Edinburgh Shorts' (£2.62) -short stories and poems. I'll download it, and give it a plug.

I sat on a bench with my camera on my knee, clicking randomly as people, mainly kids, walked by. This is a composite of six shots. But it summed up the day - gloriously summery. It must be - I had my hat off. Though not for all the time.

Back to rain tomorrow, I see...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.