Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Another Grassmarket stitch-up. Police informed.

My computer is on a go-slow. It has been for some time. Could be something to do with the masses of photos I have accumulated over the years, but the speed of this accumulation has increased 100-fold since blipping! I need to move them all to an external hard drive. I need to buy another one, too. There is also masses of school stuff I can now safely get rid of. In fact, just now, the computer seized up and I had to do this again. After dispensing my advice to all and sundry to type and save in case blipfoto crashes, I didn't bother doing it myself! Ahem..

I've spent the morning typing up kids' stories. JR is a Learning Support teacher and has groups of kids doing their own writing and publishing books. They're fantastic! The language, the punctuation (including speech marks, apostrophes, ellipsis), the ideas - I love reading them. And these are P1 kids. Five year olds!

Trouble is, in Scotland, and probably all of the UK, kids go through a 'programme' ie they all do the same thing at the same time. The lessons are all set out. P1 kids will be doing stuff like 'The cat sat on the mat' and their 'writing' will be a dictated contrived sentence read out by the teacher. Don't get me started on the differences between primary education in the UK and NZ!!

I've been reading of a few blippers doing some online photography courses costing £100s and being rather frustrated. I think they'd be better spending their money on a new lens/ camera/ slap up meal/ B&B for a weekend - and just looking at free You Tube videos on how to do things.

After a wee wander today in the not-quite rain, I found myself at the cafe of yesterday, funnily enough. I had a possible blip in mind of a delicious scone, as it's an indoor blip kind of a day. However, when the scone arrived, complete with jam and cream, a vision of the two rather large glasses of red wine I'd consumed enthusiastically yesterday evening hoved into view... Suffice to say, I did not enjoy the scone as much as would be normal. And I couldn't bear to blip it either. The vision of large glasses of red wine is fading as the day goes on. Thankfully.

And so, it's another stitch-up of the Grassmarket, because it doesn't make me feel nauseous. I quite like the wet roads look.

As I came near Lothian Road, I could see my bus nearing the stop. As it's a three-an-hour service (sometimes two-an-hour) I didn't want to miss it, so yes, I had to sprint stagger fast the last 100 yards or so. What with sprinting staggering fast, unwelcomed visions and a crashing computer - I need to lie down now and shut my eyes.

This was not a day for playing with my new new toy. So you'll have to wait...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.