pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Where there's a smoke alarm...

The wind was blowing a hoolie this morning and woke me from my slumber. 

At least it meant that I was up in good time to catch up with some blipping as I sipped the first brew of the day. I had a fair bit to get through at work as I’m off on Monday and Tuesday to spend some time with the wee ones over half term.

5pm arrived soon enough and then I was off to collect them from after school club. We had a lovely evening and all of the offspring duly demolished my first attempt at corned beef hash. 

Things took a turn for the interesting thereafter when The Eldest broke out a newly-acquired tarot card set and proceeded to deliver a couple of readings. None of us were surprised when the first card that The Youngest pulled was The Devil.

It gave us all a giggle - amazing how easy it is to draw lines between what the cards say and what is actually going on in your life **eye roll** - and they seemed to enjoy it. 

As a final kicker to the day, I found out that my smoke alarms are really good as they went off when a scented candle - recently lit to counter a particularly bad bout of wind from m’boy - burnt down and offered up a final puff of smoke. A lovely noise to wake the dead and finish the day.

The Youngest slept through it all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.