Soap Making

After out soap making lesson last week I was keen to put my new found knowledge to the test. When I announced my intentions yesterday it sent poor Jo into a panic. Why? My birthday is a week away and Jo was going to buy me some soap making gear to compliment the basic bits I already have.

So when I got up this morning there was a pre-birthday, birthday present waiting for me. Jo had recently asked me what I want for my birthday and for the first time ever I didn't have a long list. So the contents of the present were a complete surprise. What contents? A Pyrex measuring jug, digital scales, silicone mixing spoons and some flexible rubber muffin trays. I was delighted.

As part of out morning outing we went to the soap making lady and picked up the ingredients. Olive oil, castor oil, coconut oil, and lye. She measured it out for us and the lot cost just over $10. Bargain. Then we bought oatmeal from the supermarket and a few other things I had forgotten like rubber gloves and greaseproof paper.

I had planned to make the soap this arfternoon but wanted to play with my new toys as soon as we got home. So between the two of us we made unscented oatmeal soap. Jo sensibly wore her splash jacket. I managed to get one small lye water burn on my arm thanks to my lack of attention to safety.

What fun. After that we went back to the shops and bought more moulds. I will be making more soap next weekend. Very soon we will have soap for everyone. No more having to think about gifts for friends and family. From now on, everyone gets soap...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.