Spot the kingfisher

Richard left early for a Folklore Society meeting in Gateshead. I had various photo-editing and sorting plans in mind for today, but wanted some fresh air first. So I visited the two large ponds in Endcliffe Park where kingfishers can be seen sometimes.
The conditions weren't great - murky light, blustery wind. Because of the wind, I didn't take the long lens that I usually use for bird photos - it's heavy, and I didn't feel confident about using the tripod in all the wind. But I was on my own at the Shepherd Wheel spot, which was very relaxing. I'm not good at spotting these tiny birds, despite their vibrant colours. However, I did soon see a kingfisher, perched in a tangle of branches. The hoped-for diving shot eluded me this morning, and the bird remained mostly semi-hidden in among the branches.  But I had a peaceful time watching, and thinking about a return visit in easier conditions. And I amused myself with some other types of shot too (extra).
Now it's back to the laptop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.