Dreich

It took a lot of resolve to go out again this afternoon, into today’s dreich weather but the thought of a gin without tonic water has spurred me on.

I’d been out at first light and hadn’t enjoyed the drizzle and cold dampness of the day. The mist was low down on Arthur’s Seat with Calton hill and Edinburgh’s Disgrace both shrouded in it as I hit Princes Street and M&S for food shopping and a coffee.

Having finished reading ‘Finding Hildasay’, I returned the book to the Library in Morningside and collected another book this time by Anne Glenconner who was Lady in WaIting to Princess Margaret.

I walked home in a damp, cold east wind and resolved not to go out again……. but the thought of a stiff G&T overcame that resolve. Fortunately I didn’t have far to walk.

PS what looks like litter at the LHS of my blip is in fact all the flower tributes to the fireman who died as a result of the Jenners fire last month

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.