Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Woodland flowers

My walk up to the paper shop in the morning takes me through a small section of woodland.  I noticed lots of these flowers in bloom on the ground under the trees.  I'm not sure what they are; at first glance they look a bit like clover but the grouping of the flowers is different and the leaves are much larger and slightly ridged at the side.  Nice to see it in bloom though.

Last night's concert was interesting.  The band, three teachers, two ex-pupils who had later graduated from the Guildhall School of Music, and a singer whose background I couldn't ascertain, were all accomplished musicians and had clearly played together before; just not often.  The audience was odd; I've been to countless jazz concerts and this was not a jazz audience.  Although tickets had been on public sale I'd estimate that at least 80% of the audience had links to the school; either pupils, parents or staff.  Consequently, they were there to see people they knew performing rather than to listen to jazz, and the band could have been playing anything.  That was reflected by the band; there was no general rapport with the audience that you would get at a normal concert but lots of personal references and 'in' jokes that were lost if you weren't part of the school.  Frankly, it was a bit like attending an end of year school concert and felt a bit 'cliquey'.  The singer had a good voice at the lower ranges but once she got high and loud she was a bit like a foghorn, and every time she did so it prompted lots of air punching and whooping 'X-Factor' style; definitely not a jazz crowd!  We quite enjoyed the evening but it felt like we had gate-crashed a party.  I'm not sure I would go back; at least, not for this type of event.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.