Saturday Walk

As every Saturday (it seems) a walk around the Kranichwoog, where I again spotted some bigger birds. But still no cranes. The word that there is a pond named after them doesn't seem to impress the cranes much or the crane community is used to better spots for a break on their way north. In the morning I thought I heard their call, but couldn't see any.

On my walk I saw this swan, several Nile geese and of course the water buffalos (main blip) and later many ducks on the ponds. The first time I've see that many ducks there. 
With a better camera or a more exposed position or closer to the ponds there might have been more to explore. 
Looking forward to the observation tower what will be build sometime this year. At least I will be able to overlook the area (finally). 

I see photos with all kinds of wildlife (mostly birds) of this one photographer all the time in the newspaper; he seems to be the only one allowed on the area and I'm kind of jealous. Of course, with his camera and a lens almost als big as my car, he has an equipment I can only dream of. Saw him many times last year. Sooner or later I'll ask him if he would be kind enough to let me come with him for an hour or so. But I'm afraid he will trip over backwards laughing when he sees my camera....

In the extra: Swan and Nile geese seem to get along nicely. They were still sitting there together on the meadow when I returned.

It wasn't a long walk. No rain today, just a bit of a drizzle at times, very mild, but a gusty and unpleasant wind. A day you have to pay attention to the trees and branches above your head when you're out for a walk.

19:25; 10°C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.