Fassenachtsküchelcher

That's what they are called in my home. A traditional sweet treat around Fastnacht/Fasching/carnival. You get them everywhere during the "crazy season". In the bakeries around here they go as "Berliner". In Berlin they are "Pfannkuchen". Others say "Kreppel". Depends where you live. I like that.

My mother wanted me to buy her some yesterday, but they were sold out. So I bought yeast and made my own in the morning. I made them much smaller than those you buy. And as I don't like them filled (traditionally with jelly), I got exactly what I wanted. And my mother, too (she doesn't like the filled ones either).

Extra: The Küchelcher in the making. I had to use a pan to fry them, because I don't have a deep-fryer. I also used olive oil; sunflower oil is recommended, but my mother didn't notice the difference, so can't be that bad. 

Two more crazy days with tomorrow's Rose Monday and than on Tuesday the parade in Ramstein and the fifth season will be over.
I haven't seen much of it yet, perhaps will attend the parade on Tuesday (weather depending).

19:30; 9°C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.