Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Treats!

One of my lovely new friends in Bedford spent six weeks over Xmas with her parents in India. Last week included her birthday and so she redeemed a gift voucher for a wine and cheese pairing experience organised by the Essex Wine School – Who knew! What a lovely idea!
Today she invited six friends for lunch at her home in a village 30 minutes from Bedford and treated us to a home-cooked biryani. I was really pleased to meet her friends, a musician/actor who has very similar tastes in music and films to mine, a GP born and raised in Fermanagh by Indian parents from Malaysia and Singapore respectively, a teacher who has been a foster-parent and who has adopted her last foster-child, a decade or two younger than her own three, and a former teacher who has reinvented himself as a drystone waller and is the only one of his kind this side of the imagined line between Weymouth and The Wash. These last two are also hosting a refugee parent and child from Ukraine.
I felt so privileged to be included in such a group – the polar opposite to the people I work for.
I brought a rather nice bottle of wine and a little basket of dwarf narcissi in bloom as a gift to my host, though forgot to photograph them before setting off. I was overwhelmed to be given these treats she had brought back from India for me – a notebook handmade from recycled cotton rags, a carved and painted little wooden elephant, and the most bling-encrusted pen I have ever held.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.