Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Silence of the cat

Walking around my neighbourhood keeping an eye open for potential blips I spotted this seaside dressing to a residential front window. Stepping back to capture an image obviously piqued the curiosity of the family pussy-cat, who came out to stare at me while I photographed the window.

This afternoon I went to my regular Sunday afternoon haunt, Danny's Bar at Esquires to see a band called Vinyl Frontier. The name sounded promising though I had no idea about what music they might play. On stage the tee-shirts worn by the band gave a bit of a clue, Buzzcocks, Jam, Clash plus a very nice bear on percussion.
The first set was impeccable renditions of everything I heard while at college – Echo and the Bunnymen, Martha and the Muffins, The Smiths.
After the break they took me back to my final years in school with Madness, The Clash and Adam and the Ants.
They were categorically the most fun band I have seen EVER. Even nice ladies in tweedy twin-sets were up and bopping to Anarchy in the UK.
Can you even imagine?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.