Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Coltsfoot

Tussilago farfara

I went on an especially long walk today to find some coltsfoot.  Around here, at least, it's one of the earliest wildflowers.

So here you are ;)

I've also been trying to discover why it's called 'coltsfoot'.  It's a member of the daisy family and - according to Roy Vickery's Folk Flora  - it has also been known in various parts of the UK as 'Calves' Foot', 'Bull's Foot' and 'Horse-hoof', but that doesn't really explain it's connection to animal's feet.  It was meant to be good for coughs and during WW2 its leaves were dried and smoked like tobacco.  Make of that what you will!

My other piece of nature news is that this afternoon I saw my first real 2023 butterfly - a newly-hatched, pristine, male brimstone - in the park.  Unfortunately by that time I had dumped the camera and was walking Hazel.

Hope you've all had a good weekend and that tomorrow begins the week well for you  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.