Good morning Blippers!

brose (rhymes with rose) Brose is an old-fashioned porridge-like dish consisting of oatmeal or peasemeal mixed with boiling water, a pinch of salt, and sometimes some butter. Compare with Athole Brose.

Atholl Brose or Athole Brose
Atholl Brose is a drink or a pudding made from whisky, honey, oatmeal, and water. Double cream is sometimes added. The drink is named after an Earl of Atholl who, according to legend, incapacitated one of his enemies by spiking his well with whisky and honey.

How nice to have my breakfast dictated to me by the Dictionary Project. I gave it a go with butter and a tiny bit of salt, but I had to add coconut and brown sugar to make it sweet so I would want to eat it. How our taste buds have changed from bygone times. Mind you, I probably should have gone down the Atholl Brose route, but perhaps it's too early for whisky.

It's another gorgeous day so I'm sure I'll be out and about adventuring in a wee while. I have a concert to look forward to tonight - The Music of Moondog.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.