Getting shoogly with the cat

shoogly Something which is shoogly is shaky, unsteady or wobbly: a shoogly table. If someone's jaiket is on a shoogly peg or nail they are in danger of being sacked from their job. That's the second big order we've lost this month. The boss's jaiket must be on a shoogly peg.

I randomly chose this word, but it's a link to yesterday's blip, which mentions 'the shoogly nail'. I didn't see any shoogly nails all day. The only shoogly object I saw was Whisky the cat. I worked outside on a picnic rug in the back garden, and between chasing things, Whisky kept me company on the rug and did plenty of rolling and shoogling about.

As a bonus extra word, I can explain that to shoogle is to shake or rock from side to side. The word comes from the earlier shog to shake or sway, and is apparently related to the German schaukeln to swing or rock.

I mention this because one of my favourite pastimes is to shoogle Whisky when he's on his back, and shoogling the guinea pigs is also great fun. Shoogle in this sense is to put your hand on the cat's belly and give it a good rub from side to side. He quite likes it, but never try it with Dipsey or Bushcat if you value your limbs.

I went to see the new Star Trek film with Fred tonight - it was fantastic! I loved the Romulan ship in particular, though all the effects were amazing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.