IronWill2013

By IronWill2013

Reeves's Pheasant

Had a nice day out at Anglesey Abbey, near Cambridge. We went there to view the gardens and gain some inspiration. As we all know .... most plants are late to bloom this year, and that is certainly the case with Anglesey. Of the plants there, I'd say the Forget Me Nots are the pick of the bunch just now, under the trees. The herbaceous borders are still a few weeks away yet from making a show.

This big fellow however DID put on a show!

This is a Reeves's Pheasant, and I now know that he has one of the longest tails of any bird. I snapped a good 100 pics of him as he foraged amongst the undergrowth for his food. He rarely looked me straight in the eye, but finally he did, and then I understood what this look meant .... it meant business!!! Seconds later he chased me from his two females and the show was over. Bit scarey. This is a big bird :-)

Check him out large (press L on your keyboard).

Isn't he a beauty?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.