IronWill2013

By IronWill2013

Sweet Dreams

Inspired by our visit to Anglesey Abbey yesterday, today has been a busy day in our own garden, and it's not over yet by any means. I have to make the most of this half decent weather.

I decided to plant out my sweet peas that I sowed some weeks back. I've planted out 4 different varieties. One of the varieties is named "Sweet Dreams", hence the title of this blip. They were all showing good healthy root systems and the ground is nicely warmed up now.

This ground was knee high in weeds when we moved in 3 years ago. We had plenty else to do in the house and in the garden to begin with, so it pretty much just got ignored, but now I have weeded the area as best as I can, covered it with weed suppressing black sheet, and made holes in it for the bamboo canes and plants. Perhaps I'll grow something different there next year, but for just now, the simple plan is to kill off the weeds, and at the same time, grow some lovely colourful and fragrant flowers.

It's going to take years yet until the garden is looking the way we want it to, but, bit by bit, we are making improvements.

I'll Blip another photo later in the season to record the progress in the flowers. Unfortunately, you'll just have to imagine the scent :-)

Appropriate music ... Eurythmics - Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This)

Update: Went back out and planted up four window boxes with trailing fuchsias. Satisfied with the days work. Bath time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.