WHAT A DIFFERENCE A DAY MAKES!

When I arrived at the Church this morning - having remembered to pick up Dianne- but only just, as I was in the wrong lane and had to switch quickly - I noticed that the daffodils I had Blipped yesterday were almost all out - see my top left shot, which reminded me that a day can make a big difference in our lives! 

There were lots of jobs to be done when we arrived, sorting and bagging donuts and croissants - which I left to Jackie to do, as I would probably be tempted to eat one!  There were lots of vegetables that were not looking good so we try to make them look better, because even if they are free, we don’t want our lovely people to think they are getting sub-standard items.  De-eyeing potatoes is a long and tedious job, so we all chat with one another whilst doing it.  I asked Carol and Darren if they would mind being part of my Blip today and despite asking Darren to smile - after I had taken this shot, I couldn’t work out whether he was grimacing because I was teasing him or whether he really was finding tying a bag of pasta hard work!  

The middle right shot shows lots of packets of Chocolate and Orange Hot Cross Buns - they don’t appeal to me at all, Hot Cross Buns should have lots of spice and currants in them not chocolate and orange, which is strange really, especially as I am a chocoholic but I am quite a traditional person at heart.

The little hand-made items at the bottom right are what are attached to some of the Bags of Hope when they are delivered - not quite sure where the Christmas one came from but it’s a lovely little personal touch for those who receive the bags and who I know, are very grateful.  

The last shot is what was on my hall calendar for today and I thought it was quite appropriate for us as Volunteers at the Community Fridge at Gorse Hill Baptist Church.  We know that we do make a difference in people’s lives and although sometimes it’s hard work, that thought keeps us going.  We always pray at 10.55, just before the Community Fridge opens so I shared this thought with everyone today.

Hope you all have a good week and that you, too, will make a difference in someone’s life - because you never know what burdens those you meet are carrying.

I am reminded of this wonderful quote by Maya Angelou:

“If you don't like something, 
     change it. 
If you can't change it, 
     change your attitude.”
Maya Angelou

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.