pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Foxton Locks

When I said rest yesterday, I meant just enjoy each day. Which means getting up late if we feel like it. I woke lots in the night, but dozed until 8.30. We didn't rush anywhere - I don't even remember checking the time. We just did the usual getting up things. Wash. Dress. Breakfast.

Wedrove to Foxton. Our reason for choosing this area for our break. I can't remember if I already told you, and I'm not going to look back through my blips to check, I'm just going to tell you again. If you are female, and my age you will have forgotten anyway!!

So Jon's family history, the Gibbs family, started in this area. The earliest Gibbs I have traced back is Thomas, and he lived (born 1714) and died (1774) in Naseby. We will visit there at some point. His son married in Foxton in 1781, and so the family of Gibbs seem to grow in this small village. Ultimately, the branch Jon is descended from moved to London in mid 1800's. I don't have an exact date, but James was born in Foxton in 1819 but married in Islington in 1847. They had many children.

What we (I!) am interested in is seeing the places the Gibbs ancestors inhabited. I know from the 1851 and 61 census' that Sarah Gibbs, a spinster, was the schoolmistress, and I know where she, and her niece Elizabeth Crane, also a relative and assistant schoolmistress, fit in to Jon's family tree.

We had a lovely walk down past the 10 locks, and had a (not great) coffee in the sun. Then walked along the canal to the village to the church. We couldn't go in because there was a funeral taking place, but we will go back Wednesday.

We were so lucky with the weather. After a late picnic lunch, we drove home via Lidl in Market Harborough. Tomorrow we will go back for a wander - and hopefully a better coffee!

This evening we walked around the big lake on the site, and then Jon did dinner. We are having a vegetarian week. Tonight was spinach and ricotta tortellini and tomato and basil sauce! Basically just shove in a pan and heat!!

Now reading, board games and getting more info for my growing Gibbs tree!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.