Someone’s got to do it

I spent some time today watching a beetle rolling around a piece of dog poo on a footpath..and even longer reading about the fascinating lives of dung beetles: https://www.animalfunfacts.net/beetles/22-dor-beetle.html Isn’t nature amazing?

The day had started with a trip to the hospital as my sister was having a colposcopy; not a nice experience, but the staff were kind and let me stay with her throughout the procedure. We were both relieved when it was over and they said that everything looked ok.

On the way home we stopped to look round a church we’d passed on the way, at Fletching. I really like visiting old churches and this one had so much historical interest. Simon de Montfort kept vigil here the night before fighting in the Battle of Lewes in 1264. I spent a lot of time reading about him as well.

My sister came back here and stayed for lunch and a look round the charity shops with Mum, while I went out for a walk to Buxted (where I saw the beetle). I also picked some wild garlic in the woods which we ate with mushrooms on toast for our tea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.