New Railings

...Mostly hard as the whole thing was designed to be more fire resistant but the pillows qualify as soft...sort of.

One young man arrived at 9am on schedule this morning. He and John moved the furniture away from the edge of the deck where it was serving as a temporary railing. Then they stood and chatted for awhile as the truck with the railings hadn't arrived. Once they did arrive and were greeted by Spike, It didn't take them very long to install the pre- assemble railings.. Roger, for that is his name, said they had assembled everything in the shop so that there wouldn't be any glitches once they were powder coated. They had to bring the preassembled and welded pieces up the back stairs, which also have a new railing to match the front steps ,  and around the back of the house.

It took awhile, but it was worth the wait. We're very pleased....

I drove over to Kathy's by myself today as John wanted to oversee the installation. Just as well I had her to myself because I tweaked my back and took advantage of her undivided attention. Her husband, Mike, is the contractor who organized all the deck work, so I was able to tell him how much we like the railings and he was able to tell me that the delay wasn't Roger's fault, it was the powder coaters who took their time....

We'll have them over for dinner when it stays light enough for them to see it,  and warm enough for us to sit out there....

We took the covers off the chairs just to take the picture as it's supposed to rain again tomorrow or the next day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.