Knitting Project

It's beginning to feel like the scene with Audrey Hepburn in Breakfast at Tiffanys where she is sitting and knitting a very large, very shapeless object, unrecognizable as having any useful purpose.  My picture is a work in progress, a couch throw for Dana which I started as a Christmas present. The first iteration was too small, so I added more stitches, put it on bigger needles and went to the yarn store for more yarn....the mustard color. As it got bigger, I realized that if it was to have the right proportions I would need still more yarn, so I went back to the yarn store. They were out of the taupe color and  the mustard color, so I bought the white. The couch arrived last week. The throw should be finished just in time for summer.

My other project today was to tackle my closet. Dana offered to go back to Healdsburg with me (and without the reluctant men)  since I told her I had forgotten how to ship. I am feeling a bit more inspired about restocking my closet and would love to have her help in moving away from the six things I have been wearing for the last two years, but I decided I needed to have a critical look at what is in there and give some thought to what I actually need before getting more. There's a lot of stuff  I never wear,  the things I have worn constantly for the past two years and are actually wearing out, and a few other things that have become lost in the unplumbed depths and dark corners. 

I made a start today and discovered mainly that almost everything needed to be washed. The dust has invaded even the closet. More time and many more disposal bags will be needed before Dana and I get to go shopping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.