Flossmo

By Flossmo

Duck!

It's been a busy and productive day.

I spent pretty much the whole morning on my creative writing. I got another episode of my thriller written for tomorrow's creative writing group meeting and I updated my jottings of thoughts and ideas around the world of fiction.

After lunch I decided my knee was sufficiently improved for a trip to the garden centre and a walk at Frensham Big Pond. I had a good time at the garden centre browsing amongst the plants and trying on hats. I came away with three small succulents which I am planning to put in a homemade terrarium.

Down the road Frensham Big Pond Car Park was almost empty, just a couple of dog walkers and someone having a fag break in a white van. I walked along the edge of the water to the Frensham Pond Hotel. There was plenty of bird life in and around the pond and plenty going on. I was interested to see a swan having a stand off with a smaller black bird that looked like it had blepharitis. Neither wanted to give way even though the swan was standing in the middle of the road. I ended up flagging down a black BMW which was heading for the swan at some speed. After that I managed to break up the stand off and persuade the swan back onto the verge.

On the water the smaller birds were playing kiss chase and at on point a coy female took off right over my head quickly followed by two males. It gave new meaning to the expression duck! Alas I was too slow with my camera. 

I thought that a photograph of the black duck would make an interesting blip. After some initial shyness the bird seemed to take a liking to being photographed and posed quite willingly for the camera. I was just sorry I didn't have anything on me to give as a reward.

Back home I checked out my new feathered friend. Mr Google says it's a Muscovy duck. I spent a pleasant half an hour reading up about Muscovy ducks and the various theories on the origin of the name (apparently Muscovy is an old name for the area around Moscow). It's amazing how much time can be frittered on trivia, but I enjoyed myself. I have never seen Igor before at the Pond but hopefully he will become a regular. It has given me impetus for a return trip.

In separate news Mr Flossmo is doing brilliantly; no pain or after effects of the anaesthetic. Three cheers for Frimley Park Hospital. Just a check up to navigate on Thursday. 

 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.