Knotting paper

I was chatting to someone about fathers earlier today. We were talking about how we keep their memories alive by talking about them and - for me at least - talking to him. And then this evening this happened. I decided to light the fire and, as regular readers might know, I have some newspapers dropped off by Calum last week. 

So, I started knotting the newspaper as I've always done and I realised that I learnt this from my dad, and he learnt it from his mother - I used to watch gran doing this. Neither home, gran's or ours, had central heating so I grew up seeing this method and, in truth, I don't know if there is another way of preparing the paper. It's not just talking about, or to, people that keeps them in our lives, it's the practises that we inherit too. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.