Little figures

I made my winter swimming debut today. Proof in the extras taken by Mr A (I'm wearing a turquoise top) plus a pre-picture taken by one of the fellow swimmers featuring my enormous new dry robe (except it's not a Dryrobe, but some ersatz make).

Of course, it's fearsomely cold. The water was around 7 degrees compared to the approx 15 degrees (plus much warmer air) when I last went swimming at Doune in June last year. This wasn't really "swimming". Gripping my float I made my way out until my shoulders were approximately immersed and floated around a bit. And then beat a hasty retreat long before I felt I really ought to get out. I'd prepared well and brought a flask of hot ginger tea, so I drank that whilst sorting myself out under the dry robe divesting myself of cold wet kit before we drove back from Shandwick Beach to Tain. It's only about 15 minutes, which makes it a really local option.

The only problem arises given that we don't really have a dedicated drying room here. I want to go again tomorrow at the same time but also don't want to end up putting on wet kit.... Anyway....

This evening was also swimming-fuelled, as we joined some of the members of that swimming group at the Royal Hotel just along the road as they discussed car park renovations. They are an energetic and can do bunch. A great group.

I felt so empowered that I stormed through my to do list :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.