ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Moon risen

Back to the beach today, and apart from the squealing when we actually exposed ourselves to the bitterly cold sea it was a calming experience. This is after. I blipped this view of the moon, because it was seeing the moon when out in the water that was one of the best parts of the swim (although obviously this was taken from the car park - no photos in the water today) Also included in the extras is a photo I took from the road down to Shandwick around 1710. I was cold when I went in the water, but funnily enough I was less cold when I came out and wrapped up (apart from having freezing hands and feet, but they warmed up soon enough). Anyway, it was fun, and great to see the girls.

Also, therefore, back to the routine of getting my stuff clean afterwards. And hopefully dry by tomorrow, although I have a second swimming costume I can wear, so that's something at least.

And back to the routine of working here. I started off at the kitchen table. Then went to do a cycling work on the peleton app and the Schwinn bike. Then some Teams meetings, ending up in the living room which, by then, was much warmer (although we had to put the heating on most of the afternoon as it didn't get much above freezing for most of the day). A walk out in the afternoon for a brisk 20 minute scoot around the local streets to get some steps. And then to Shandwick beach, as noted above.

Now I'm sitting on the sofa with a furry hot water bottle on my knees, knowing that another hot water bottle awaits me in bed. It's a lot colder than it was when we were here a few weeks ago, and indeed there was snow in Invergordon this morning apparently. None forecast over the weekend, however, which looks to be set fair.

More displays from the Red Arrows, but I'm afraid I didn't manage to see them.

EDIT: I later realised this was my first anniversary of starting sea swimming in earnest, as opposed to occasionally when the opportunity arose in the summer. A wonderful way to do it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.