ArcLight+

By ArcLight

More sea

Another very cold swim today, this time at The Port. The drive out there at lunchtime was interesting, because I could see "weather" over in Sutherland, across the Dornoch Firth. I thought it was the Easter Ross peninsula effect and we were going to be spared. However, whilst we were there, the wind got up, and it rained somewhat and those obscured coasts in the blip were clarified (see extra taken after the brief swim). After the swim, the drive back was equally scenic with great views of the hills of Sutherland further up the Dornoch Firth. Anyway, yes, a brief and very cold swim. I wore my Finisterre yulex costume, which is great for swimming, but not so great in the very cold water. Plus my hands were absolutely frozen. But most importantly, the core stayed reasonably warm and I didn't suffer after getting home, although the hot water bottle may have assisted with that.

I cannot believe I missed the anniversary of my cold water swimming debut, yesterday. It feels like I've been doing it for ever, not just for a year. And second, it has changed so much about how we (although particularly I) relate to this place.

Work was quite Friday-ish. I finished off a task this morning, sent off a bunch of emails, and did some reading and annotating this afternoon for a review project. And no Teams meetings! Amazing what you can get done if you don't get interrupted.

Looking forward to a weekend in the North. Tomorrow in particular should be fun with a swim in a new place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.