Almost flooded

Crossing the river Avon on my walk to fareshare a little after 8am. It’s tidal here, and the water is flowing so fast upstream, carrying huge branches here and there, and all manner of debris. It often gets like this or even higher, and the water laps the pathway I walk along.  But I’ve only once seen it cover the path. 
Some thoughts on building a 19 floor tower block (just out of view on the right) and several 8 storey blocks which are in view : firstly, the bottom floors are extremely likely to flood. Secondly, is the land stable enough? If you are sharp-eyed you can see a land slip down the bank from under the furthest left block in the scheme (those with little black balconies). Thirdly, what are they doing building tower blocks still?  - not only because of Grenfell and the fear that must leave high-rise dwellers with. But also the lack of community and neighbourliness compared with what you get in a street. And fourthly, I’ll bet the residents have trouble getting insurance.  I’m having that difficulty now, as my house is within 250 metres of the river, even though it’s 200 feet above it:). Their algorithms can’t deal with that - they are sure my house is on the flood plain. Oh well. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.