My friend’s lovely hellebore

My mum always used to do her washing on a Monday morning - and I used to help her if it wasn’t term time. It was quite a business - a boiler for whites, to which you added ‘Dolly blue’ to make them whiter. A Hoover upright washing machine - you just put a few things in the top, and a post in the middle moved back and forth and agitated them around a bit. Tongs to get the far too hot clothes or sheets or towels out of the boiler or the machine. And a mangle to wring them out, which was always ready to squash your fingers if you weren’t careful. 
This morning I pressed one button to wash all my clothes.  And the same button again about an hour later to wash all my towels.  But I still do like to wash on a Monday if possible.  It’s often said that women turn into their mothers:). And I think I probably am, which isn’t a bad thing.
I went round to my knee op friend again to lend her some books - she’s reading about one a day so needs a steady supply - and saw this amazing and unusual double hellebore in her front garden. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.