ABSTRACT THURSDAY - CELEBRATORY

I said yesterday that this was going to be a “flowery” week so here is my next offering.  

A dear friend left these outside our door a couple of days ago and they were in tight bud, but they have gradually been opening and today are fully open.  

I played around - or in Blip terms, fartnarkled - with my Oilist app - this was the result - a bit Monet-ish and I rather like it.

You may be wondering where the “celebratory” comes in - as well as celebrating the 400th AT - today is our younger son’s 49th birthday, so at 7.59, our time, and the exact time he was born, I rang him to sing “Happy Birthday” - something we have done for many years for both our sons.  

Mr. HCB is not feeling too good and has a head cold, a cough, a sore throat and a very gravelly voice, but he sang as best he could and I know our son was pleased. We did a Covid Test before we went to the care home on Tuesday, so we're sure it is just a cold.   

I have put a shot taken in 1979, when our younger son was 5 years old - he is at the front - and although I have changed it to a mono shot, they were both wearing bright red velour jackets that I bought for them in London, when I went on a shopping trip and came back with nothing for myself, but a jacket each for them!  

Sadly it’s another grey and quite chilly day but seeing these beautiful daffodils, we can celebrate that Spring is coming, but I’m pleased we have a warm home and I may even do a little bit of decluttering and find some more stuff to go in the charity box.

Hope you all have a good day, whatever you do - and this is a quote for our son today: 

“You are never too old 
     to set another goal 
          or to dream a new dream.” 
Les Brown

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.