JIGANTIC FLOWERS ON FLOWER FRIDAY

As Mr. HCB had been indoors for two days, I thought it would be good idea for him to go out for some fresh air today, so persuaded him that we could go for a coffee at a nearby plant nursery and then go and do some shopping.  He was keen on the coffee idea, but not quite so enthusiastic about the shopping - but I told him if he wanted to eat this weekend, then the shopping had to be done!

We had a good chat over our coffee, and whilst waiting in the queue to buy some clothing - I know, it’s a garden centre, but you can buy anything and everything there - we stood at 11 o’clock in silence - with all the noise going on around us - and remembered all those who had died in the war in Ukraine.  We then went to do our shopping at Aldi - where there were plenty of vegetables and peppers, but no tomatoes, but that didn’t really bother us.

On the way home, I had a text from my friend, N, who said she was in town, asking if I wanted to meet for a coffee.  I checked with Mr. HCB who said he would put all the shopping away, and said that he would drop me off in town, which he did.

N and I then had a lovely time together and as she is a Pilates teacher, she gave me some tips for doing the various exercises that I need to do to strengthen my muscles prior to my knee replacement operation, for which I was very grateful.

We then walked into the town centre and I saw these magnificent “Jigantic Flowers” which have been there for a couple of weeks, over the half term break.  I took several shots and then passed them through my PhotoRoom App, and this was the result, and they certainly brighten up the town centre.  I had taken several other shots of flowers at the garden centre, but these particular flowers won’t be in our town centre for much longer, so they won the day.  I know they are lit up at night, but they look good and almost lit up in this shot - so here is my offering for Flower Friday.

I did pop into Marks & Spencer and bought some “proper” Hot Cross Buns and we have just enjoyed one with a cup of tea and coffee.  Before the lockdowns, when Spring came, I was in the habit of buying bunches of daffodils and giving them to random people, so decided to start doing it again today, so I bought some and gave them to an older lady who had just come into the store but who was unknown to me.  When I said I would like her to have them, her eyes welled up and she told me I had made her day - it doesn’t take much, does it?  She asked my name, and I asked hers, so I hope that Rachel will be blessed by the flowers as they begin to open up.  She did say to me that she would “pay it forward”, which surely is the thing to do when you have had a kindness shown.  

Hope you all have a great weekend - Mr. HCB is much better and thanks you all for your kind comments - I think he is glad we went out, but of course, hasn’t said that in so many words!  

“I shall pass this way but once; 
     any good that I can do or any kindness 
          I can show to any human being; 
               let me do it now. 
Let me not defer nor neglect it, 
     for I shall not pass this way again.”
Etienne de Grellet : Quaker Missionary


P.S.  I just love how the daffodils have opened up in my kitchen - see extra - what a treat from the tiny buds of two days ago! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.