Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Tomatoes, maybe ...

Despite the veggie title of this blip, I am enamoured of the appearance of this morning's sunrise over the Firth simply because it was so lovely and so ephemeral. After a dreadful night's disturbed sleep, I was awake at 7am and off to the supermarket, pausing only to take the photo, of the MV Coruisk, a proper ferry, heading for Dunoon over a totally tranquil low tide, with the much smaller Western Ferries ship in the background - the Coruisk only appears as a replacement when a boat - in this case the Argyll Flyer - is off for repairs.

I was quite expecting to have to load up with some extra frozen vegetables after three nights in a row of dire pronouncements on the BBC news about the big stores, including Morrisons, rationing shoppers to three fresh vegetable/fruit purchases because of shortages caused by snow in Morocco. Or something. We all know it's Brexit ... If you take a look at my extra, you'll see the reality in Morrison's Dunoon. Shelves stacked with vegetables and fruit, with the only scarcity in the tomato section - but even there I managed to get a punnet. Maybe it was because I was early?

After that, the day is always a bit of a blur. The usual stuff just happens; the weather turned grey and later a bit damp; I did Italian and physio exercises and cooked a splendid dinner (baked salmon, quinoa with lentils and spices, steamed pak choi, roasted tomatoes). A bright spot was a half-hour zoom with my younger son whose birthday it is today. I'm amazed at his grasp of business finances; I cannot think where he gets it from, this son of mine. I remember so clearly the day he was born, 45 years ago, in the local hospital where one of the midwives stayed on duty beyond her shift so that she could tell the people in church about it ...

And that was Thursday. I've sent off a letter that's been on my mind for days, I've put some more of my holiday photos on Flickr, I've managed to arrange our day off church after Easter. I feel about 100 years old. Tomorrow is another day...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.