Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Ash Wednesday

Today was one of these days when I think I have all the time in the world and then end up scampering to catch up. Perhaps it was the unfamiliar sunshine lighting up my bedroom before I'd even got up - yes, I was loitering over my tea... But I did eventually get downstairs, carrying a full laundry basket of black/very dark clothes to wash; you'd think we were undertakers, the number of black garments we seem between us to possess. The lovely thing was that I took them all in again at 2pm bone dry and ready to be put away - it must be Spring soon!

Himself went off to practise the organ for an hour or so while I did domestic things like cleaning the sink, but over coffee we decided that because it was so lovely and sunny at that point we should go for a walk the moment we'd finished, which is why we ended up in Benmore Gardens, apparently all alone except for some tree-fellers whom we heard in the distance but didn't see. The light is best in the gardens in the middle of the day, which is why I was able to get the photo above, of a rather exotic rhododendron on the sunlit hillside above the path. 

A late lunch meant that I was sitting reading the papers when 3pm came and the clock striking roused me to the other things I really needed to do. I was briefly washing a mug when the low afternoon sun made me suddenly aware of how badly the kitchen window needed washed ...

I did get on to my computer eventually. I was sorting out information for a new website that will be selling my poetry collection as well as artwork and jewellery - I'll perhaps advertise when it's live - and realised I couldn't find any of the photos of myself that I've used in the past for such things. It took much longer than I expected, and by the time I'd finished, and answered some mails that needed attending to, and sorted out dates for preaching/needing to get out of preaching/possible swaps it was growing dark and the tiny moon was flanked by Jupiter and Venus and looking more amazing than any of the photos I managed to take. There was just time to have a cup of tea and peel potatoes for dinner before leaving for church.

The Ash Wednesday service is one I love, and this year it was well attended, which was great. The address came from a biochemist who happens also to be one of our lay readers, and reminded us of how we are made of the same minerals and elements as the rest of the planet, only rather wonderfully arranged - dust thou art ... 

Dinner was absurdly late, and so, now, am I. 45 years ago today I had a baby in Dunoon hospital, but not till the afternoon. I can get some sleep in first.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.