Day 6: New

Day 4 of holiday!

I have always been an avid reader and fondly remember reading all the Laura Ingalls Wilder books. One of the things we wanted to do while on holiday was visit the last home of Laura and her husband, Almanzo, which is located in Mansfield, Missouri. They had moved to this home in 1894 and named it Rocky Ridge Farm. It was in this house that Laura wrote her iconic "Little House" series of books.

Also part of the property was another home known as the "Rock House". This house was built for Laura and Almanzo by their daughter Rose Wilder Lane.

While we were at the Rock House I spotted this Summer Tanager. And since this was a new bird for me I knew it had to be my blip!

On the way back to our vacation condo we stopped at Wilson's Creek Battlefield. This was the site of one the first battles of the American Civil War. Fascinating place with great history!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.