Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Two parrots up a tree, k i s s i n g

For some reason that phrase put me into 9 year old mode again when we first started to become aware of boys and future relationships and that others potentially had them!
.... But I digress!
Today I had a taxi to take me into Bangalore, hang around while I wandered and shopped then bring me home again. 5.5 hours in total of which there was more than an hours driving each way, the traffic is phenomenal. Its only about 15km to the centre of MG Road from here.
I particularly wanted to visit a restaurant I stumbled across in 2000, when I tell you it's on the 13th floor of a skyscraper, like me you'll rather wonder how I came across it and I really have no idea. I think I had got very hot and everyone I was with kept suggesting we stopped at a roadside coffee spot. I wanted to cool off properly though. Anyway the upshot was I discovered the Ebony Restaurant on the top floor of a skyscraper and I've gone there every year since when I've been here. It's rather posh, but my lunch today cost me the princely sum of £14 including tip. I had a salad of crispy fried strips of banana flower with onion, okra and chicken (and chilli) in a spicey honey dressing as a starter followed by another starter of chicken satay sticks (6 of them). Thank goodness I only had the starter portion! I only managed 3 of them. I had a butter naan and a fresh lime soda to wash it down. All this 13 floors up looking down on the eagles and kites as they swooped below me. MG Road used to be a beautiful wide road with trees on the non built up side. The cricket ground is there and a beautiful park. In their wisdom they have built a raised level metro above it. See extra.
I bought some gifts for the girls then piled back into the taxi to Whitefield. It was worth every penny.
I went out for a walk just before the sun went down and after stomping very carefully through the woods - I'm never sure what might be lurking in the long grass and crunchy leaves, so I stomp - behind the centre, I came across the lake in my collage. The birds in the trees are, parrots, cormorants and a brahminy kite.

The extra shows: the metro line in Mahatma Gandhi Road; a welcoming sign!!!; one of the shanty areas, note the bike trolleys at the front; and the only elephant I've seen so far this trip on the pavement at the metro station which is above it. It's a statue btw, it would never fit on the metro!

Oh and it is art quiz day! Only 6 today, need to do better!

https://nationalgalleries.typeform.com/to/VWkCjmJP?typeform-source=statics.teams.cdn.office.net

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.